Nancy Zakon to Receive American Museum of Fly Fishing’s 2023 Izaak Walton Award

From the American Museum of Fly Fishing:

February 2, 2023, Manchester, Vermont 

AMFF is pleased to announce Nancy Zakon is the 2023 Izaak Walton Award honoree. This event will take place online via Zoom on March 13 at 8:00PM EST, followed by a complimentary, celebratory reception on March 14 at the Key Largo Anglers Club at 6:00 EST. The Zoom portion will be the story-telling stage for some of our greatest female pioneers, as Nancy will be joined by Mary Bloom, Fanny Krieger, Sara Low, Lori-Ann Murphy, and Joan Wulff.

Nancy, as past President of the International Women’s Fly Fishers, instructor in Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing school, a designer of Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing gear, founder of Juliana’s Anglers and Sporting Club of New York City, and Bonefish Bonnies of Key Largo, FL, has been a trailblazer for women in fly fishing.

The American Museum of Fly Fishing established the Izaak Walton Award in 2014 to honor and celebrate individuals who live by the Compleat Angler philosophy. Their passion for the sport of fly fishing and involvement in their angling community provides inspiration for others and promotes the legacy of leadership for future generations. Past winners include:

2022 – Paul Bruun
2021 – Paul Dixon
2020 – Flip Pallot
2019 – Tom Rosenbauer
2018 – Rachel Finn
2017 – Jim Klug
2016 – James Prosek
2015 – Tom Davidson
2014 – Ed Jaworowski

We hope you will save the dates and plan to join us virtually, in person, or both! To support this event at the Leadership Circle Level, please visit this page. For any questions, please email us at